Interview – Rachelle Grooten

Utrecht based DJ Rachelle Grooten has recently been supplying clubs across the Netherlands with a heady mix of deep house and progressive dub, so M3 caught up with her to talk about digital music and the local scene…


M3 – First of all, could you tell us a bit about yourself, and what it is that you do?
Rachelle – Hi, my name is Rachelle, 22 years old, a photographer and a DJ for the weekends. I really love progressive music because the story people tell with this music, puts me in another state of mind. What I love to do is make a mix of all the music that inspires me to make that mix and if I can enjoy it then I know it’s a good sound.

What inspired you to focus on music? What is your own musical background?
I went to classic ballet for over 17 years, and I play the piano and sing a little bit. What inspired me was to ‘learn to speak up for myself’ only for me it was through music!

Many people have claimed that there is no longer any money in record sales, and that touring is the most efficient way to earn an income as a band. How much truth do you think there is in this sentiment?
I think the people who really love music, most of all buy it! Especially the ‘ secret wapons’ for a DJ set!

What would be your preferred medium to listen to music (eg. Vinyl, CD, tape, MP3 etc.), and why?
I’d prefer MP3, because I think thats the future!

Do you feel the idea of an album, as a piece of art that people will listen to from start to finish, has been undermined or forgotten about in the digital age?
It is clear that people nowadays are more selective in their musical preference. For that reason I think it is essential to elaborate on this given fact by producing “digital proof” and convince them of the power of your album’s entity. Especially now it is important to differentiate in order to be unique in the enormous amount of digital music offered.

In a few decades’ time, what genre or sound do you think will come to define the 2000’s?
I really don’t know! There is sooo much music I hear around me. It could be house or techno I think!

Do you consider your local music scene unique? How would you describe it?
No, not my ‘local’ music scene, I pick wisely the parties with music I like throughout the whole country. So it’s not local anymore, but it’s unique! I prefer underground music, thats why! Not house, deephouse, techhouse… thats something you hear everywhere in local clubs! I think it’s a bit overrated, not unique.

Do you think that interacting with fans through social networks, such as Facebook etc, gives your listeners a deeper connection to your music?
Yes I think so!

Finally, what does the future have in store for you?
I really don’t know! I go with the flow and see what the future has in store for me! My stepsister always says : ‘Seek, feel and taste  your life! Just go with the flow, and you will see!’ So thats what I do :-)

For more information about Rachelle Grooten, you can find her on Facebook and Soundcloud.

About M3 Event

The music industry is rapidly changing. The internet has enabled widespread piracy, as well as a variety of new business and distribution models. We want to offer an engaged audience in and around the Euregion an opportunity to develop a coherent and detailed picture of the future of music distribution. On the 31st of May 2012 a music conference in Maastricht, consisting of oppositional debates, creative workshops and lectures, will provoke opportunities for intellectual stimulation, debate, as well as networking. We hope to utilise the skills and ideas of some of most forward thinking minds and operators in the industry in order to highlight some promising new ideas and areas which can be improved upon.

Leave a Reply

